Skip to main content

Skip to menu

Selection Jury

Selection Jury members are appointed by Harold Hamm Diabetes Center representatives with priority given to individuals who have served in international capacities in the field of diabetes research such as editors of major diabetes journals or recent leaders of major diabetes-related organizations.

Members of the 2015 Selection Jury

Members of the 2015 Selection Jury will be announced in the Fall of 2014. 



Members of the 2013 Selection Jury

Timothy Lyons, MD, FRCP, Selection Jury CHairpersonTimothy Lyons, MD, FRCP, Selection Jury Chairperson

Dr. Lyons holds the position of Director of the Diabetes Research Program and Professor of Diabetes and Translational Medicine at the Queen's University of Belfast.  He is also Professor of Research at the University of Oklahoma and a Member of the Harold Hamm Diabetes Center at the University of Oklahoma.  He has served as the past Chair of the American Diabetes Association's Research Policy Committee and was a member of the American Diabetes Association's 71st Scientific Sessions Planning Committee. 



BuseJohn Buse, MD, PhD, CDE -- Dr. Buse received his MD and PhD from Duke University in Durham, North Carolina before training in internal medicine and endocrinology at the University of Chicago. He is currently a professor at the University of North Carolina (UNC) School of Medicine in Chapel Hill, North Carolina where he also serves as the Chief of the Division of Endocrinology, Director of the Diabetes Care Center and Executive Associate Dean for Clinical Research.

GaleEdwin Gale, MD -- Prof Gale is Emeritus Professor of Diabetic Medicine and former Head of the University Department of Clinical Science in North Bristol. His major research interests have been in the pathogenesis of type 1 diabetes, but he has written reviews and opinion pieces on many aspects of diabetes, and was Editor of Diabetologia from 2003-2010. He has chaired the Special Advisory Group on diabetes and endocrinology for the European Medicines Agency (EMA) for the past 5 years. He is currently engaged in setting up Diapedia, an online open-access living textbook of diabetes.

HowardBarbara Howard, PhD -- Dr. Howard is the Senior Scientist and former president of MedStar Health Research Institute. She received her PhD in Microbiology from the University of Pennsylvania and currently holds a faculty appointment in the Department of Medicine at Georgetown University. Dr. Howard serves on several Data Safety Monitoring Boards for federal studies and on the editorial boards of numerous scientific journals. She has chaired the Nutrition Committee and The Council on Nutrition Physical Activity and Metabolism of the American Heart Association. Dr. Howard also chaired the Nutrition Study Section of the National Institutes of Health and served as a member of the NTH Expert Panel on Obesity that developed guidelines for the treatment and prevention of obesity.

RobertsonPaul Robertson, MD -- Dr. Robertson received his MD from Creighton Medical School before training in endocrinology at the University of Washington, where he is currently a Professor of Medicine and Pharmacology. Dr. Robertson has served as the American Diabetes Association President for Medicine and Science; Editor-in-Chief of Translations in Endocrinology and Metabolism, Endocrine Reviews, and Diabetes.

StanleyCharles Stanley, MD -- Dr. Stanley is the medical director of the Congenital Hyperinsulinism Center at The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia and a professor emeritus of pediatrics at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania. He has published numerous articles in journals such as The New England Journal of Medicine, Journal of Pediatrics, Diabetes, Journal of Clinical Endocrinology and Metabolism, and The Journal of Biological Chemisty. He was recently co-editor of Monogenic Hyperinsulinemic Hypoglycemia Disorders, volume 21 of "Frontiers in Diabetes."